Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Brush Teeth

After many attempts of getting Charlotte's pearl whites brushed, she finally willing to let me do the task when I introduced the children's toothpaste to her. I was a little hesitated to use the toothpaste for many reasons including the concern of Charlotte "eating" it, also because Charlotte's taste buds are a little unique I was just worried that introducing the toothpaste might totally banished the teeth brushing idea if she doesn't like the taste at all.

Toothpaste introduction turned out well on one fine Saturday morning about a month ago. I usually be a full time mother during the weekend and I decided to try the Kodomo Lion children toothpaste with strawberry flavor that I bought many weeks back. I brought a cup of drinking water and invited Charlotte to start the activity. I told her she must not swallow the toothpaste, and I role played with her to show her how to spit out the water, with my command "ah pui!". After a few try, I think Charlotte got the idea and she was really excited about spitting out the water as I said "ah pui!". Then I put just a tiny dot of toothpaste on 2 tooth brush, 1 for Charlotte and 1 for me (to help her). It went on very well and I managed to brush her teeth almost completely.

This continue on Sunday and of course the next thing to do was to tell Brenda to continue the effort during the weekdays. It continued to went on very well as I checked with Brenda almost everyday after I came back from work.

The interesting thing happened last weekend. As usual, I prepared the drinking water and took Charlotte to my bathroom to get ready for bath after I brushed her teeth. Everything went ok and I started to brush her teeth. However, when it was time to rinse and spit out the water Charlotte decided to swallowed it! She smiled at me and said "swallow" after she did that (sort of like getting permission). Of course I said no and told her she must spit out the water, it's dirty water. I let her do again after a few more brushing, but again she swallowed it!! This time she also said "swallow" but it was a little louder and with a little more determination. I know I was at the loosing end. If I stopped her from doing that, she will not let me brush her teeth anymore. So then I quickly dipped the tooth brush into the water to rinse off the remaining toothpaste and let the battle continued with brushing and swallowing the water *slap head*

Nowadays, she is not just swallowing the water but she also suck on the toothbrush (toothpaste) right after we put the tooth paste on it. Although I know it is fluoride safe and sugar free toothpaste and it is perfectly safe to use on young children, I still feel uncomfortable see to Charlotte sucking the toothbrush with toothpaste on it.
Before I was a mother, I never knew it could be so much tricks (sometimes bribes) to do just to get a toddler to complete a single task. I am learning my way to be a good mother, everyday.

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Bean Bag




4 years ago we bought a king size bean bag when we stayed in the States. It is about 6 feet in diameter and about the height of my hips when it is fluffed. It is just a perfect size for 2 adults and Pat and I used to enjoy our midnight movies on that bean bag. But it has been hiding at one corner in our living ever since Charlotte is born.

Last week, Pat decided to move out the bean bag from the corner when I was busy cutting Charlotte's hair. Of course Charlotte got very excited to see such a humongous "bed" in the middle of the living room and jumped right on it when she finished her hair cut. She explored the bean bag quite a bit and she got very comfortable with it not too long after.

I was all sweating and wet (I did Charlotte's hair cut while she was playing in the small pool at the porch) and really needed a bath. So I quickly sneaked upstairs to clean up myself as she was happily exploring the bean bag. When I was all done and went downstairs, I found Charlotte got so relaxed and enjoyed herself lying on the bean bag watching her favorite Monsters Inc. while munching the apples that Brenda just cut for her. (Oh btw, she is now calling her auntie as "auntie Brenda". Isn't that sweet?)


The bean bag has become her movie watching "couch" since then. Sometimes she even asks both Pat and myself to join her. She giggles as 3 of us cuddled up on that bean bag, it feels so warm and cozy. Totally worth the $$ we spent, so much then before :)

See how she enjoys it?

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

Hairdo

Do you remember the little girl in the Monsters Inc. movie called "Boo"? Yes, that's something I want to blog about in this post.

It has been quite awhile since we last bought DVD movies mainly due to our busy work schedules and I realized that Charlotte is getting bored with most of her old movies that we have been playing everyday. We went for DVDs shopping a few weeks back and got her some old cartoon movies but we have yet to introduce it to her like Finding Nemo, Shark Tale and Monsters Inc. Her favorite is Monsters Inc. and since then we have been playing everyday.

Side track a little bit, when Charlotte was very young, she used to let me tied-up and pinned up her hair with those very nice hair clips that I bought for her. However, as she grows she gets very curious about things that I put on her hair. She will pull it out every time I put them on. Since then, I have been keeping her hair short as it is be very untidy without those hair clips.

One night I happened to ask her if she wants me to tie up her hair just like "Boo" while she was watching the movie. Almost immediately she got very excited and said yes. She sat down very properly and let me do the work, and tada!!!


That night, she kept her new hairdo throughout the entire movie and until she went to bed :)

But I just cut her hair last Sunday as I don't want to take the risk of fighting with her to get her hair done during Chinese New Year. I had to cut it now to allow it to grow a little bit and look natural in the next 2 weeks. I'm sure she is going to be a pretty China doll in her new cheongsam that grandma bought for her ;)

Friday, January 18, 2008

"Stop!"

Charlotte is definitely talks and communicates more now than before. She also is picking up more vocabulary and also starts to build sentences. This post to going to capture 2 most unbelieveable incidences that I encoutnered by talking to Charlotte this week.


When she was 15-20months old, she walked to our room and pushed open the door when she woke up in the morning. When she was somewhere between 20-24 months old, she stopped walking to our room but she was waiting in her room (still lying down) for us to greet her good morning. I usually will go check on her once I got myself dressed up for work but before I go downstairs for breakfast. She was happy to see me when I peeked at her door. Now she is at the terrible 2 stage, everything's changed. She wakes up every morning (or most morning) crying and she cries even louder when we go greet her. We practically spent 5-10min to calm her down and let us carry her downstairs.


When we are ready to leave the house for work, she objects and doesn't want to go to MIL's place. She'll say "no MaMa house, home D". We then spend another 5-10min to persuade and get her into the car. When we arrived at MIL's place, the drama starts again. It will be another 5-10min to get her down from the car. The journey from our house to MIL's place only take 5min but the entire process sometimes takes us 15-20min. The story doesn't stop here. Brenda told me that Charlotte is a handful to manage throughout the day too. Sometimes, she doesn't even let Brenda go out of sight, otherwise she would cry and cry and cry...


So on Wednesday night, I decided to take time and talk to her a little bit. I started by telling her





Monday, January 14, 2008

My Banana Girl

One of Charlotte's favorite Baby Einstein is Baby Da Vinci. She knows how to point and say it to us correctly when we ask her where is her head, shoulder, knees, toes...I tried to teach her the same in Mandarin too but it has been awhile. I remembered she used to get herself confused with "头" (tóu, which is head in Mandarin) and "Toes". I believe she still is but I have not test it on her for quite some time now.

Last night, we went dinner with my parents and she was with me on the front seat on our way there and on our way back home too. I had this short conversation with her...

me: mommy needs to speak in Chinese with you already, if not you cannot understand KongKong and MaMa.
Charlotte: (looked at me, blanked)
me: In Chinese "吃饭" means "eat rice" (well more like have a meal). Charlotte say 吃饭 (chī fàn)
Charlotte: (pause for awhile) Sit front! (this is what she says every time she asks to be seated on the front seat)
me: What? 吃饭 become sit front? *slap head*
Charlotte: (pretend to laugh too. Believe me, she is good at that)

Then she saw the moon and pointed to me
Charlotte: moon!
me: Yes, that's the moon. Moon is "月亮". Charlotte say 月亮 (yuè liàng)
Charlotte: (pause for awhile too) Yang Yang................KoKo (she was referring to her cousin Isaiah, his Chinese name is Lee Yang, she calls him Yang Yang)
*double slap head*

me: Do you want to go to KoKo's house tomorrow?
Charlotte: (nodded her head)
me: When I ask you "do you want" that is 要不要 (yào bù yào)
Charlotte: ...
me: Charlotte 要不要睡觉? 睡觉 is sleep
Charlotte: NO!
me: Oh, this one you understand? 要不要睡觉?
Charlotte: no!
me: say 不要 (bù yào)
Charlotte:...

Looks like I really need to start to communicate with her in Mandarin. Good luck to me :)

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

Aeroplane, Snowman and Christmas Trees



Dec 29th, I took Charlotte down to KL to meet up with Pat. So I told her the night before that mommy is going to take to go on an aeroplane to go see daddy, she smiled.

I woke up early on Saturday morning, making sure I had all the necessary (milk, diapers, bottles, pacifier, medicines and etc) packed. I dressed Charlotte appropriately to sleep the night before because I know she usually didn't want to get changed in the morning. Our flight is at 9.05am and everything was as planned. We arrived at the airport and after checked-in was around 8.30am. I took Charlotte to walk around so that she could see the aeroplane up close. She was very happy and couldn't wait to be boarded.

Finally, boarding gate is opened and we were boarded smoothly. Charlotte got her own seat this time and she was fascinated. However, not too long after suddenly she said "want air-plane d" (don't want aeroplane already), "home d" (go home) and she really want to exit the plane. Uh oh!!

I didn't know what triggered her but I don't think she was scared the flying thingy. Anyway, I tried to clam her down and told her that we are going to see daddy, aeroplane will take us there and daddy will be waiting for Charlotte. Luckily she nodded. I started to pray that Lord help me and help Charlotte to go through this quickly and easily.

When we were about to take off, I decided to pull down the window shield just in case Charlotte is scared if she notices the height. Unfortunately, this triggered her curiosity. She wasn't aware of the window shield but once I did that, she actually wanted to play with it. We were taking off and she can see everything outside clearly, including the height. I tried my best to explain to her that we are flying, just like the one she sees in the Barney video. Cars and trees are becoming smaller, and soon we were above the clouds. Thank God that she accepted the explanation, and she sort of understands what she is experiencing.

She then discovered the seat belt. She asked me to show her to lock and unlock the seat belt. Luckily it was just a short distance flight and it wasn't too much turbulence. She was happily playing with the seat belt, learning to fasten and unfasten it repeatedly.


You must be thinking did she pinch her fingers at the end? Me too thought she pinched herself, that's why I stopped the video. No, that expression was because she didn't manage to get the seat belt unfasten, phew!

If you noticed in the video, there was a man sitting beside Charlotte (yes, Charlotte prefers the middle seat). Not long after we took off, that man fell asleep. Charlotte noticed it and turned to me and said "mommy, eyes close d" (ha ha!). As we were about to land, that man woke up and Charlotte said to me "mommy, wake up d". (LOL!)

We stayed at Royal Bintang, it's really a very strategic location to stay if the objective is to shop and eat. The Christmas decoration was amazing at the entire The Curve and Ikano Power Center.



Later that evening, Rachel CheChe, Irene KuKu and Uncle Peter came to meet us and join us for dinner at the Italiannese. Charlotte also received a Double Dancing Barbie dolls from Irene KuKu as Christmas present.

Who is that cow girl!?


We planned to shop at 1-U the next day before heading back to Penang unfortunately, Charlotte wasn't very much into shopping mood but more interested in walking up and down stairs/steps. So Pat decided to go straight back to Penang after breakfast, and there goes my Tony Roma's too :(

On our way back, Charlotte probably had bad dreams and she woke up crying hysterically. We were barely half way on our journey back home. She vomited the full 6oz of milk that she had about an hour ago. Worse thing was, I was carrying her with her facing me. When she vomited, I could see a big fountain of milk came toward me (eewwww....) and my whole body was covered with half digested milk (eeeeeeewww.....). We had no choice but to stop by the side and get changed (yea, in the car). Probably it was the bumpy road plus Charlotte just had milk not too long ago, all that motion might have upset the stomach.

Thank God that the remaining journey was smooth and Charlotte took another 4oz of milk as we were reaching Penang.

Monday, December 31, 2007

Merry Christmas!

After all the Christmas presents were unwrapped, it was time to get changed and visit to in-laws for Christmas wishes. We didn't go to church on Christmas day because we attended the mid night service on Chritsmas Eve and want to make sure that Charlotte had enough rest to the rest of the Christmas Day activities and visits.

I dressed up Charlotte in her new Christmas white color top that we bought for her from Gap Kids. Although the top is slightly bigger (yeah, the kia su mommy bought her a 3T), she looks so "christmas" in that outfit.



She first visited her grandparents (my in-laws) at home and then meet the other grandparents (my parents) and her KooKoo and KimKim (my brothers and SIL) at Maple Gold for Christmas lunch.


She didn't eat much but was having a good time walking up and down the steps. We realized that she is able to take those steps without holding to our hands, and so she was "practising". This is something about Charlotte, when she learns something she will keep doing it until she master it. At home, she goes up and down the stairs without holding on to the handrail or letting us to hold her hands. She says "Myself!" we will have to stay very close to her to make sure that we could catch her in time if she miss a step.

Saturday, December 29, 2007

Another Visit to PD

My entire family was sick this Christmas (or should I say last Christmas? anyway, I mean 2007). It started with me, had really bad soar throat 2 weeks before Christmas. I recovered from soar throat but it became cough and flu. Then Charlotte got it from me, then Pat and eventually Brenda too.

I took Charlotte to the doctor when I first spotted some symptoms on her. Unfortunately, she did not respond very well to the medicine prescribed to her and her cough was getting worst and with phlegm. On Wednesday night, Dec 26th she had a slight fever and I decided to bring her to Dr. Rama the next morning.

I did the usual preparation with Charlotte, making sure that she knows where we are taking her and she would anticipate the checking from the PD. We arrived at GMC around 10am but we waited until 11.30am. While we were waiting, I told Charlotte Dr. Rama is going to check on her chest, ears and throat. She then said to me "kiss, hand" and showed her hand to me. That was because during her last visit she was such a good girl and Dr. Rama kissed her on her hand and she remembered!

Usually, Dr. Rama will be checking her as she sits on my lap. I don't know what happened that day, Dr. Rama requested Charlotte to lie down on the examination bed. I thought that is going to trigger her to scream and cry again. To my surprise, Charlotte cooperated. She lay down and let Dr. Rama do the checking, on her stomach, listen to her lungs with the stetoscope and checked her ears and throat. Not a sign of concern or discomfort showed on her face.

I then carried her up and let her sat on my lap as Dr. Rama explained and prescribed the medicines. Suddenly, Charlotte said "doc-tor-Ra-ma", slow but very clear! Dr. Rama, the nurse, and Brenda all broke the silence with big laugh! Oh dear, my girl is applying what I thought her!

Dr. Rama prescribed 4 medications, including a 3 days course antibiotic and phlegm relieves. Luckily, feeding medicine is not as difficult as it used to be anymore otherwise I will have big headache to make Charlotte take all these medicines.

Good news is, she has fully recovered now!

Wednesday, December 26, 2007

Underneath the Mistletoe



Yes, those were Charlotte's Christmas presents. I told Charlotte to put all her presents under the Christmas tree and can only open them on the Christams day. She followed my instruction completely even though she remembers the 1st Christmas present that we bought for her wrapped in the yellow color ToysRUs gift paper. She kept asking for it everyday but we told her she can only open it on Christmas day.

This year, we managed to attend the Christmas Eve Mid Night Service at church too. Charlotte again was very delighted to see the Christmas performance by the Sunday School children and she was also received the blessing from the pastor as I brought her forward during the Holy Communion. We left the church right after the Holy Communion but the next morning my mom told me that Santa Clause came soon after we left. Again, Charlotte missed it.

See how excited was Charlotte when she gets to open up all the presents finally...







I was surprise to see when she picked up a present and started to shake it like how the adults used to do. I never thought her that and wonder how she knew how to do it that way.

She received a wide variety of gifts, such as books, crayons, toys, game set, shoes and dresses. She was very excited and overwhelmed with all the presents received. My guess is, she is going have some level of expectation when comes to Christmas next year. I better start to tell her to be good if she wants more (quality & quantity) presents next year, hee hee!


Merry Christmas Baby!!!

Christmas Carol

We missed the Christmas carol at my parents' place last year because the caroling team only came after 11pm and Charlotte was too young back then to stay up till late night. This year however, the caroling committee managed to arrange for an earlier schedule to the house and Charlotte was able to witness the Christmas carol for the first time!

On Dec 22nd, I dressed her up in red and white jumper that we bought for her from Jusco. It was a perfect Christmas dress and Charlotte looks so adorable in it.



The caroling team came right on time, 10.00pm. The ladies were in white dresses and white shirts/black pants for men. The team also had 2 little "angles" with them (I don't remember we have that before) and they both wore a angle crown (more like a hairband), angle wing (or butterfly wing?) and a wand in their hands. When they were all standing at the doorstep Charlotte was delighted to see them, especially the angles. She kept very quiet, observing and admiring the carolling team throughout the session. I think she has the potential to be in the church choir, just like mommy (hee hee). I joined the caroling when I was 8. I was the youngest in the team because back then the church only allowed >13 years old to participate in the caroling. We didn't have the little angles role back then, and we were expected to remember all the songs (around 15-20 songs) by heart (yeah, I saw them bringing along the song book this time).



The only thing missing this year was the Santa Clause! Where has the Santa gone? I was telling Charlotte that she could see the Santa Clause that night. Although I didn't think that she knows what Santa really is even though we bought her a toy Santa at home. Apparently, the carolling team has been split into 2 to accommodate the number of houses to visit each night. The Santa Clause is following team #1. I am disappointed a little when I knew about the situation, however it could also be a good thing because I was also worried if Charlotte is scared of the Santa just like she is scared of the clown giving out balloons at the mall sometimes. I was prepared to tell the Santa don't come to shake hand with Charlotte when they arrived because I know about the carolling "process" very well. God must have knew about my worries, Amen!

Charlotte was very delighted with the whole carolling "thingy". She even blow kisses to the team when they were in the van prepared to leave for another house. The carolling team wind down the window and all blew kisses back to Charlotte too and shouted Merry Christmas as the van moved away.

Friday, December 21, 2007

Outdoor Fun!

We bought Charlotte a battery operated motorbike back in June this year. She barely had the control of the motorbike back then. She always ran into corners or hitting at the road blocks after short ride.

Pat took out the motorbike last Sunday morning and Charlotte had so much fun riding on it. She is now able to control the direction very well with the handle, lift up her right leg to stop and make U-turn or change direction by pushing and turning the motorbike with her legs.

Inside the house, she is also able to ride from the living room to the kitchen and make u-turn back to the living room without hitting at the wall or corners. Sometimes, she shows a big grin on her face and we can tell she is so proud of herself too :)

Tuesday, December 18, 2007

So Courteous

Charlotte is learning to apply "sorry", "excuse me" and "thank you" in her daily conversation recently. A few situations I found out recently...

Situation 1
When Charlotte is trying to get pass us through a narrow walk away, she says "excuse me"!

Situation 2
When Charlotte is hit by something or fell down, sometimes she says "sorry". I think that's because we used to say that to her when she's in pain. So she picked it up and apply it that way too (oops...)

Situation 3
Charlotte loves to run at Malls and hypermarkets. When it is so crowded and she kept bumping into people, she kept saying "sorry" to the person in front and turn to another direction and continue running. Like an energizer bunny. The way she says it is so sweet and innocent but with so much pride! Sometimes I could hear people commenting "so clever this girl!"

Situation 4
When you give something to Charlotte, if she is impressed she will say "woh!" but she always forget to say "thank you!" until we reminded her.

I came back from lunch last Tuesday with a big bag of Christmas presents (thanks to the mother from the playgroup). I gave the bag to her and she peeked inside and said "woh!!!" and showed me a big grin. I told her those are her Christmas presents and asked her to put all the presents under the Christmas tree and can only open them on the Christmas Day. She did exactly as I told. I don't think she knows when is Christmas (or what is Christmas) exactly but I guess she just has so much trust in me that I will give it to her one day. So she didn't hesitate at all. Good girl, isn't she? But she forgot to say "thank you" *slap head*

Situation 5
I found that the Coffee Beans is selling packets of very cute mini gingerbread man. Six pieces in a pack, cost RM9.60. I bought one for Charlotte (not that she loves to eat it but it's just kinda cute and also good chance to show her what a gingerbread man cookie is) and she said "woh!!" (as expected) when I gave it to her. I asked her if she wants to eat it and she nodded. So I took out 1piece and gave it to her. It is kinda hard and she couldn't bit it off at first. I told her to bite at the gingerbread man's hand, it has a tinnier structure and should be easier to bit it off. She did it, and gave me a big grin. A short while later, I heard she said "sorry"! Then she went on to bite at the other hand, then again she said sorry after the hand was bitten off. *LOL*

Sick, But So Brave!

When I was out with Pat for lunch yesterday, Brenda called. I knew something must have happened for her to make that call. I picked up the phone and Brenda told me that Charlotte was having fever, 38.1 degree C. I rushed home in 20min and when I checked her again the temperature has gone up to 38.3 degree C. I quickly feed her the PCM and the fever subsided after 40min. She then went for the nap but when she woke up, temperature came back and I also noticed that she was coughing too (I had a terrible soar throat and cough last week, I must have passed it to her). I decided to take her to the PD for early treatment.

As we were getting ready, I told her that I will be taking her to see the doctor as usual. Her respond was nothing else but "NO!" and started to cry. While changing her, I took my time to explain to her the reason I am taking her to the doctor. My last update about her visit to the PD was in Sept when she was due for the JE 2nd jab. She was very good then and I prayed that she will be as good (if not better) this round.

Me: Charlotte is sick, cough cough, so must see doctor
Charlotte: No cry!
Me: Yes, no need to cry. Doctor will just check you and listen to your heartbeat.
Charlotte: Check, check (with her imagination of a stethoscope on her chest)
Me: Yes, doctor can hear your heart beat goes "dup dup"
Charlotte: Poke! (pointed to her arm)
Me: No, no injection today, no poke. Just check check your ear, and check check your mouth. You must say "ah...." and open you mouth for doctor to see, ok?
Charlotte: No!

So we arrived at the Hope Clinic around 6.30pm (I know and have heard so much about Hope at Sg. Ara, but I had no choice as I have a meeting to attend that night and Pat was still in the office) and registered ourselves. Unfortunately, we were told that the doctor will only come at 7pm. I had no choice but to bring Charlotte elsewhere first. I then took a short trip to my SIL place and came back around 7pm.

As we entered the room, Charlotte was very nervous and she held on to Brenda very tightly. I told the doctor what happened and he started with his stethoscope as we expected. Charlotte was anticipating that and she kept very quiet and still until the checking finished. Once the doctor removed the stethoscope, she immediately asked Brenda to take her outside. Unfortunately, the checking was not over. Doctor needed to take her temperature with the digital thermometer. I told Charlotte to look at it, so that she knows what is going to happen. And I told her it will be the same as how I check her at home. So, again she kept very still and let the doctor take her temperature.

We thought all was over by then, and Charlotte was pointing to the door again. But the doctor said everything was fine, lungs are cleared, temperature is within the limit although slightly warm. So he said he needed to check her throat. Luckily, I told Charlotte about this part of the checking too. She wasn't quite cooperate the last time when Dr. Rama wanted to check her throat but it was a surprise this time as she opened up her mouth so wide and hold for quite awhile when she was asked by the doctor.

Finally, the checking was over and everything went so well without even a single struggle. I praised her for being such a brave girl right immediately we came out from the doctor's room. Actually, she did very well too last couple of weeks when we went for her Hepatitis A booster jab (that's how she remembers the "poke" part). Dr. Rama too complimented her for being such a brave girl!

The 2nd challenge was feeding the medicine. It was a nightmare and I was so very worried. But we (Brenda and I) tried to explain it to her as how we told her about visiting to the doctor. Hoping she will be able to accept it. Unfortunately, the 1st feed was still the same as before. We had to hold her down, she struggled and vomited everything. We had repeat the process.

Because her fever come and goes, we had to feed her the PCM around the clock. The process gets easier and better each time as we repeat the same explanation to her. Charlotte is accepting it and taking it very well. The latest "achievement" is when I told her it's time for medicine, she is ok to open her mouth (without us holding her) and let me put the medicine inside the mouth and swallowing the medicine without a single struggle. She will then say "eat cen (medicine), no cry!". Yes, she says "no cry" in a few situations: bowel movement, seeing doctor and taking medicine. We have gone through all, and hopefully she will be consistent in her "self control" discipline.

I am so very proud of her and this also has clearly demonstrated to me that she is no longer a little baby. She understands and she listens to explanation and reason. I should not take assumption of her as a little baby anymore.

I am so very proud of you, my princess!

Sunday, December 9, 2007

It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas

It's 2 weeks prior to Christmas. Malls, restaurants and offices are decorated with Christmas tree, Santa Clause, and we can hear Christmas song almost everywhere we go. Christmas shopping is done early this year and what is pending is the wrapping!

Yes, this is the time of the year or the occasion that I enjoy the most. Last year Christmas, Charlotte was just 13 months old and she barely knew what was really happening. This year, she is already 2 and she is very fascinated with the Christmas tree we put up at home. It was very funny to me as I found out Charlotte was stepping her foot repeatedly, but at some kind of rhythm while she was looking at the Christmas tree one evening. So I took a closer look. She stepped her foot and the lights on the Christmas tree turned on coincidently and a short while later, she stepped it again and the light went off. Haha, it was the blinking lights that we put on the Christmas tree! I don't quite prefer to have it blinking, but the one I bought does not allow me to stop the blinking totally. I can only turn the blinking down to a very low speed. So it looks like it is turning on and off at a very low pace, but it is not blinking. Charlotte must have thought that it was some kind of magic when she steps on her foot and the light turns on! It was so funny, unfortunately I didn't manage to capture in a video clip.

She is also very fascinated to see all the big and nicely decorated Christmas tree at the malls. She will ask us to take photos of her in front of the Christmas tree. She says "mile" (smile with the silent 's') and put her two index fingers by her cheeks. That's how we know she wants to take a picture (LOL)

Thursday, December 6, 2007

Slide, shooo....

There is something very funny about Charlotte, she associate most of the thing/object with sound (or maybe that's because I use this method to teach her). For example, if I point at a dog and ask her what that is, her response is always "dog, wou wou". If I pointed at an aeroplane and ask her what that is, she'll say "air-plane, fly high high, weeooooo". When it comes to slide, sha says "lide, shoooo"

Lately, she is very into slide. We didn't have a slide at home but she will ask me to curl up my knees to form a V (upside down) shape and pretended that that's a slide. She will sit on my leg and start to slide for quite awhile. I told Pat that it's time to buy her one as I saw a set on Toys"R"Us brochure, but it's expensive. Slide + swing = ~RM4xx.

Then I remember my sister-in-law (Charlotte's KimKim) has a small slide which Charlotte loves to play every time Charlotte goes to her house. It is definitely too small now for all my 3 nephews. So, I decided to ask her if she would give it to Charlotte. The answer was "yes!" of course. In fact, most of Charlotte's toys are pass-downs from my nephews and those are very well kept.

Charlotte has been playing with her new favourite toy for the last 2 nights, she loves it!

Wednesday, December 5, 2007

Water & Sand!

Last week, Pat came back from business trip and decided to bring Charlotte to the beach in the evening. It was Charlotte's first visit to the beach and we wonder if she will enjoy it.

Since our house is quite a distance from the the Penang most famous beaches (Batu Ferringhi), we decided to only bring Charlotte to the nearby fisherman's beach at Teluk Kumbar. When I told Charlotte that we are taking her to the beach she was very excited (as usual) but I doubt she knows what I was talking about. To her, maybe it's just another "kai kai" trip. I told Brenda to prepare her beach spade set and get some clothes for me to change her later. Charlotte then said bye bye to her aunty Brenda and off we went.

She was really excited and jumping with joy when she saw the beach. She start to sing "roll, roll, roll the boat..." (with action too!) when she spotted a fisherman's boat. There were a few people nearby and gave me this smile as if telling me that she is such a clever girl! *proud*

I asked her if she wants to get down and walk on the sand, she replied "yes!". So I took off her shoes but inside me I was doubting if she knows how it feels like. Just as I expected, immediately after her feet touched the sand she clung back on to me and said "no! ak ak (dirty)!". We then brought her closer to the shoreline as the sands are finer there compared to the one she just experience. But nothing's changed, she still didn't want to get down. We tried to distract and convince her with all different things and objects we could spot from the beach, nothing worked out until we took out the spade set. Daddy started to show her how to use the spade set and dig into the sand. Thank goodness, she finally agreed to go down and stand on her own feet.



She started to enjoy the digging and sand castle building. Pat even found a baby crab and showed it to her. We put the baby crab into the bucket and thought Charlotte would be fascinated looking at it but again, we were wrong. She didn't want to have the crab and kept saying "no, throw away!". She just want to enjoy the digging...



While Charlotte was enjoying the digging, one small wave falling in and wet her feet and pants (yes, we were very close by the shoreline). That triggered her and she started to get uncomfortable again. We then had to bring her further up from the shoreline and reassured her that it's safe there.

What's about going to the beach without touching the water and feeling it? Before we head home, we decided to let Charlotte try it again. Pat showed her as he washes his feet by the shoreline. Charlotte found it interesting and decided to try it but was holding on her daddy very tightly. She giggled as Pat carried her and let her feet touched the water but she didn't want to get down, still.


It was only for a very short while and she started to struggle again. She lifted up both of her legs indicating that she has had enough of it. It was a very funny moment and I managed to capture it.

On our way back, I asked her if she wants to go the beach again, she shook her head. I thought maybe she didn't get what I was asking, so I asked again. Same reply. I then asked her if she wants to go to the mall? She nodded and said "Bay Mall" (Quessbay Mall). Well, she did get what I meant, I was the one didn't get her.

''No Cry!''

Charlotte is now potty trained. She is able to tell us every time when she needs to wee-wee or poo-poo. However, this doesn't mean that she has gotten over the phobia of doing the "big business". I can tell when she wants to poo-poo instead of wee-wee even though she said "ng-ng" to indicate that she needs the potty. I can tell by her facial expression. Somehow, she has this concern look when she is about to poo-poo. Mainly because she is not doing the "big business" everyday like most of the toddlers. Usually, both Brenda and I are counting the days if Charlotte has not poo-poo. My limit is 3-4 days, by then I will have to apply the suppository.

Last week, she told me that she wants to "ng-ng" and immediately I know (from her facial expression) that it has to be the "big business". So I brought her the potty and she sat down. I could tell that she is trying to over come her fear of doing bowel movement. She held my hand very tightly and leaned forward on me (yeah, while sitting on the potty). I tried to comfort her and told her that it's really nothing to be afraid of, it will be over before you know it. She tried to hold back her tears and tried to push harder and then he said "no cry!". I was very impressed of her determination of getting the "task" completed.

No too long after that, she clapped her hands and said "sai sai", "no cry!". I know everything was over then, phew! I tell you, it's really a relief knowing it's over and usually it would be a big news to tell everyone in the family.

After I cleaned her up, she wanted to see the "output" and I thought I should show it to her, hopefully she will understand that it's really nothing to be afraid of. So, I showed it to her and she giggles and said "chou chou" (smelly), LOL!

Sunday, November 25, 2007

School Holiday!

Oh well, not that Charlotte is excited about the school holiday but she is definitely very happy with many of her cousins are back from other places and keeping her company.

First, I received a call last week from my nephew Isaiah...

Isaiah: Kor Kor, when are you bring Charlotte here again?
Me: Did you miss Charlotte?
Isaiah: Yes la, bring her her and play la
Me: Ok, but please check with you mommy first
Isaiah: (asking mommy)...yes, mommy says ok
Me: Ok, KorKor bring Charlotte on Wednesday ok?
Isaiah: Yay!!!

I agreed and took Charlotte there last Wednesday and Friday. She was very happy with her KoKo's company even though the KoKos were playing computer games, Nintendo Wii by themselves. She was just happy seeing them shouting and screaming as the game gets more and more exciting.

Last Sunday, we took 6 kids to EQ for swimming. We had children ages from 2 to 14 (MIL has 11 children in total and 8 out of 11 are married with kids. Just imagine when all are back for holiday. The house is always full of people and noise too). Charlotte enjoyed it so much more compared to usual, when it was just mommy and daddy with her in the pool. Also, since she is the youngest in the family everyone is treating her like a princess, with the extra TLCs.

Everybody is in their most stunning swim suit and with the biggest smile posting for the picture...See how my little princess is so proud of being around with all the big brothers and sisters.


No pictures were taken when we were in the pool because both Pat and I were in the pool taking care of the children. Charlotte, of course was in her float but after awhile she learnt that she was the only one in the float and everyone else was free a a bird. She first refused to be pushed, she wantz to kick and move by herself like the rest. She doesn't know that no matter how hard she tried, she is only going in a circle. We had to push her secretly from the back so that she can move forward (ha! ha!). Later, she decided to come out from the float and swim like the rest. So, daddy had to carry her in the pool for about a good 30min before we call it a day.

Luckily getting her out from the pool wasn't very difficult as I thought it would be. I first asked all the big brothers and sisters to get out from the pool, then I know Charlotte would follow. Good strategy? Yes, I learnt too :)

After the clean-up, we spent a short while at the pool side and the kids were having fun playing together.


Later that evening, Charlotte slept from 5.00pm till 7.15pm. I had to wake her up in purpose, otherwise we will have a sleepless night.

Friday, November 23, 2007

Potty Training (Part II)

Part I was posted on Oct 31st and that was about one month after I started to potty train Charlotte. Immediately after that post, I told Brenda to stop wearing diaper for Charlotte during her day naps. To our surprise, it was a big suggest too! No accident happened so far.

Charlotte naps twice a day still, and since we stopped to let her wear diaper we will bring her to wee wee before she goes to bed and immediately after she wakes up from her nap. Initially, we had to quickly bring her the potty because we can tell from her facial expression that she couldn't hold it any longer but slowly this process is getting less tense. She is able to hold a few more seconds while we bring her the potty. She is now diaper free during the day.

In Part I, she wasn't able to tell when she needs to wee wee but she is now able to do so. Although she says "ng ng" to indicate both wee wee and pass motion, she is able to tell us every time she needs the potty. So, we started let her to go to her music class without wearing diaper a couple of weeks back. We also let her go diaper free when we go out on a short trip. We have yet to let her go shopping with us without diaper because of a few reasons: 1. the public toilet hygiene and 2. the toilet location (distance).

Now I get to save more on diaper cost and Charlotte is very happy too (she used to cry and tried to pull down her diaper when we put it on for her). She only took ~2months time to potty train. She is a fast learner, isn't she?

Sunday, November 18, 2007

Last One (for this year)



Our little princess turned 2 on Nov 12th, 2007, she gets to cut not 1, not 2 but 3 birthday cakes this year. I got her first birthday cake during the playgroup gathering, that was 1 week before her birthday. We celebrated her 2nd birthday officially on Nov 11th, invited PIL to join for a small party.

Last week, my parents came back from vacation and we celebrated Charlotte's birthday again. Originally, we planned to bring Charlotte to the beach and have dinner at the Sigi's. Unfortunately, I was down with flu and the weather turned cloudy in the late evening. So, we changed the plan and my mom gladly offered us her home cook steamboat buffet treat. I was glad too as having dinner at home makes everything else easy, especially feeding Charlotte.

Since I was down with flu, I was trying to keep my distance from Charlotte. I asked Brenda to take care of Charlotte and I went for a check-up at a nearby clinic. I was prescribed with antibiotics and cough/flu syrup which really puts me to sleep. I woke up around 5.30pm and off I went downstairs to check on Charlotte. She was happily having her bath. She didn't want to get out from the water when I told her it's time to go to MaMa's house but she moved out quickly when I told her that she is going to blow another candle and sing the birthday song again at MaMa's house.

That made the 3rd candle blowing, cake cutting experience for Charlotte. She definitely gets the meaning of "birthday" by now. This time, she did a perfect candle blowing...



Out of 3 cakes (lychee, black forest, chocolate brownie), Charlotte didn't like any of it. There is one common thing on the cake that she loves though, the M&M chocolate! See, how she messy up the cake and herself...



If you asked her how old is she, she'll say: "two, old" and trying to sign 2 with her fingers. Sometimes, she got it right, but sometimes she just simply reply 5 and show all her 5 fingers (easy way out).

I told her that's all for this year, no more "happy birthday" and no more candle blowing until next year. She nod her head as usual, but I wonder if she really understands.